Home » Badass Authors » THUMBS UP! to False Memory by Dan Krokos

THUMBS UP! to False Memory by Dan Krokos

false memory

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Length: 352 pages

Source: won in a blog giveaway

Summary: (via goodreads.com) Miranda wakes up alone on a park bench with no memory. In her panic, she releases a mysterious energy that incites pure terror in everyone around her. Except Peter, a boy who isn’t at all surprised by Miranda’s shocking ability.

Left with no choice but to trust this stranger, Miranda discovers she was trained to be a weapon and is part of an elite force of genetically-altered teens who possess flawless combat skills and powers strong enough to destroy a city. But adjusting to her old life isn’t easy—especially with Noah, the boyfriend she can’t remember loving.

Then Miranda uncovers a dark truth that sets her team on the run. Suddenly her past doesn’t seem to matter… when there may not be a future.

Review: I am ashamed to admit that I kept putting of reading this one. I received a signed copy as part of a blog giveaway, put it in a box, and didn’t think about it again until winter break. I am so glad I dug around in that box! False Memory is gripping. It’s not an action-a-minute page turner but it stays with you after you’ve closed the book. I had to remind myself that I owned the book and it wasn’t going to disappear so I could put it down to, you know, feed the children or shower or whatever. I have to hand it to Krokos – his plot line is twisty. There were multiple times that I backed up a few pages to make sure I was following the story correctly; not because it was confusing, but because whichever twist just occurred changed the way I had interpreted earlier events so I had to process the new implications of the plot twist. Is that a convoluted enough explanation for you?

My favorite thing about Miranda is her strength and determination to figure it out for herself and be her own person. She realizes that despite what is in her past, she can only live in the present. She must make the most of right now and continue shaping her identity instead of trying to recapture what’s lost. Peter and Noah seem a bit flat but I loved Rhys. And with so much to think about: clones, memory loss, parents (or lack thereof), “psychic warfare”, political intrigue, and hand-to-hand combat… there’s plenty to keep readers turning pages.

One minor caveat: Miranda’s memory loss and subsequent recovery seems a little convenient at times. The short snippets of memory tend to give her the right information at the right time. I would have liked it if the memories were a little more confusing for her. I wasn’t too harsh to judge on that matter though because, having never lost my memory, I don’t know what it’s like nor what it’s like to recover bits and pieces. I trust that Dan did his homework.

Overall, a definite thinking woman’s book and a series I’ll be keeping my eye on.

Leave a Reply

