Home » Bloggers » Battling Negativity in Public Education

Battling Negativity in Public Education

With recently passed legislation, the NC legislature has begun digging the grave for public education & public educators. I believe that the ultimate goal of political opposition to public education & public educators is the privatization of American education a la Bill Gates & his cronies so these cuts come as no surprise. And with the recent negativity toward our chosen profession, myriad Internet groups, Facebook groups, & blogs have sprouted to “inform” our professional community about the changes being handed down to our profession. But I feel many of these sites are becoming an outlet for vitriol & venom (certainly warranted but not necessarily helpful) instead of constructive, proactive information to aid educators in PROFESSIONALLY addressing the slights & being leveled at us by politicians & uninformed populace.

I would sincerely like to know what you & your colleagues are doing to combat this negativity. I am staying in the classroom until I’m forced out BECAUSE OF THE KIDS. They are the true victims of all this “reform”. I would like to address any/all of the following questions?
*Do you really feel any impact of these legislations within your classroom on a day-to-day basis?
*Since most of the legislation being passed is to be worked in over the next several years, do you feel it will really have a lasting effect or be counter-acted before it is truly detrimental?
*If you feel you are a true and effective educator, do you feel you will really be affected by these legislative decisions?
*How do you approach conversations in mixed company (educators & non-educators) about these legislative decisions?
*How are you balancing the ridiculosity of this capitalistic approach to education with continuing to truly educate our students?

I’m in it for the long haul. Just wondering how others are weathering the storm.

2 thoughts on “Battling Negativity in Public Education

  1. I’m with you about staying in the classroom. I’m not sure how these changes will affect my classroom yet. I’m afraid it depends on the district’s view. I’m in Lincoln County, and so far, teachers have held their autonomy–at least at the high school level.

    Worried, but staying!

    • Thanks for your comment. It’s good to know I’m not alone in my desire to stay in the classroom. I feel for the people who don’t have that option because of their financial situation. Wishing you the best as the school year approaches.

Leave a Reply

