Mon Reading Button PB to YAIt’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!
The lovelies at teachmentortexts.com this would be a fun meme to start up with a kidlit focus: anyone reading and reviewing books in children’s literature. It can be picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels – you name it in the world of kidlit and it’s in! I love being a part of this meme and hope you do too! I encourage everyone participating to go and visit the other kidlit book bloggers that link up and to comment on as many posts as you can. We love talking books and believe in sharing and discussing what we’re reading. We hope you join us!

242f0-6719736

I continued to slog through Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta until I just couldn’t take it anymore. I abandoned that one, even with Donalyn Miller (@donalynbooks) encouraging me to stick with it! I just couldn’t do it. Then I read Sold by Patricia McCormick. Loved it. The sparse narrative verse highlights Lakshmi’s struggle so well. I’ll be posting the review/teaching suggestions later this week. After finishing Sold, I picked up another review title: Shipwrecked by Alexandra Pratt. This is nonfiction, which is one of my weaker reading areas but the basis for the narrative is intriguing. I’ll be posting about this one soon too! I finished Beautiful Chaos (Book 3 in Beautiful Creatures) on audio. I really enjoyed the series but about halfway through this book I found myself saying, “OK – just get to the end already!”

This week I plan to read Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan which my friend K has graciously lent me. I was also threatened within an inch of my life to get it back to her unharmed. I’m listening to Dust and Shadow: An Account of  the Ripper Killings by John H. Watson by Lyndsay Faye. It’s a great literary mash-up of Sherlock Holmes with the Jack the Ripper horrors. And it’s narrated by Simon Vance (LOVE!).  Game of Thrones will continue to be on my Kindle.

What are you reading this week?

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

