Home » Middle School » Reading Slump

Reading Slump

I love to read. My students are constantly bemoaning the fact that I consider reading a hobby. I take books with me everywhere and listen to audiobooks at any opportunity. That’s why the past few months have been so aggravating. I seem to have hit a reading slump. I just can’t find my groove. When I have a book that is truly engaging, I don’t seem to have the time to devote to it without going sleepless. When I have time, I can’t seem to get into a book. I welcome any suggestions to jump-start my reading life again. What do you do to carve out time for reading? How do you get past the ho-hum titles? C’mon friends, I need a push. Or maybe a good ol’ fashioned kick in the pants.

2 thoughts on “Reading Slump

  1. I read with my kids when I’m in a slump. We commit to reading a book together out loud. It’s probably more for me than them, but it reenergizes me. And who doesn’t love snuggling up in bed with the kids after an agonizing day of teaching and reading a classic?

  2. Hmm… I’ve never had that problem, & I hope I never do. But it’s an interesting question, so I’m curious what comments you will get. I do know that sometimes after I’ve read a book that hits me hard, like The Fault in Our Stars or Wonder or The One and Only Ivan, I have to take a mini-reading break, which could mean not reading for a day, or reading something “lite such as Babymouse or Ivy and Bean. Maybe there are some YA equivalents to these that would work for you?

Leave a Reply

