Home » High School » Thumbs way, WAY Up to THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin

Thumbs way, WAY Up to THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin

I originally posted this review in April but I just finished rereading UNBECOMING in preparation for reading EVOLUTION. I thought a repost was in order. Still agree with original assessment. It stands up well to multiple readings.

TITLE: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

AUTHOR: Michelle Hodkin

LENGTH: 464 pages

SUMMARY: (via amazon.com) Mara Dyer doesn’t believe life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed. There is.
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love. She’s wrong.
REVIEW: A) The cover of this book ROCKS! I was intrigued from the moment I saw it. B) The title is just so…captivating. What does it mean?! How can one “unbecome” herself? C) I couldn’t stop reading. Even in the portions of the book where I was confused and thinking What the?! I had to keep going to see how it all played out.
Mara is so certain she’s broken and that she’s breaking everything and EVERYONE around her that as a reader, sometimes it’s hard to see the truth. And because Mara can’t separate fantasy from reality, the reader has to follow the clues. We discover second-by-second WITH Mara what has happened to her and how that’s affecting her present.
Daniel is at once alluring and infuriating. The perfect combination in a high school boyfriend, no? And!-he’s British. I mean, what girl could resist. He does go a little dark-and-mysterious-possibly-creepy at one point and I became distraught. What if he was evil? What if HE broke Mara? I was practically biting my fingernails. And the tension between them and the attraction they feel for one another is pretty intense.
There were a couple moments when I felt a misty similarity to other books with a broody male protagonist who is mysteriously attached to the winsome, damaged heroine. But ultimately, the story takes an unexpected turn, bringing all assumptions crumbling.
I waited a while to read this one even though I had heard so much about it. I’m so glad I did and my timing is pretty perfect. The Evolution of Mara Dyer comes out October 23 of this year. And, of course, its cover is phenomenal too. So, I don’t have too long to wait and despair over what could possibly happen to Mara next.

Leave a Reply

